2019 Margaret Medcalf Award

The 2019 Margaret Medcalf Award was presented by Hon. David Templeman MLA, Minister for Culture and The Arts, at a special ceremony on Thursday morning 27 June 2019.

This year's Margaret Medcalf Award winner is Dr Robin Barrington for her journal article A Race War: Tracing emotions on the Murchison frontier in Western Australia 1880-1915.

For more information about the award event, the winner and special commendations please see our 2019 Margaret Medcalf Award news webpage.

This annual Award recognizes excellence in referencing and research in the use of StaTe Archives held by the State Records Office of Western Australia (SRO). It honours Miss Margaret Medcalf OAM, Western Australia’s second State Archivist, for her valuable contribution to the development of archives in Western Australia.  The winner of this Award receives a cash prize of $1000, or shares this prize if there is more than one winner. Works nominated must demonstrate the use and accurate referencing of State Archives.

Any work completed or published in the 2018 calendar year was eligible to be submitted for nomination, and anyone, including the author of the work, can submit a nomination.

Nominated works need not be published, may be fiction or non-fiction, and in any media. One copy of nominated and winning works will be retained permanently by the SRO.  

The judging criteria for the Award are:

  • Level of use of the State Archives Collection;
  • Proficient and consistent use of referencing;
  • Level of contribution to knowledge (historical, cultural, heritage, etc.);
  • Original use of the State Archives Collection;
  • Presentation.