State Records Commission Award

Since 2006, the State Records Commission has sponsored a special W S Lonnie Award in partnership with the Institute of Public Administration Australia (WA Division).  This specialist award, the State Records Commission Award, recognises excellence in reporting against the compliance requirements of SRC Standard 2, Principle 6 in Annual Reports. 

The Annual Reports of all State government organizations are considered for this Award and progress through two short listing phases.  The Annual Reports in the final short list are evaluated according to how well the following criteria are addressed:

  • the efficiency and effectiveness of the organization’s recordkeeping systems are evaluated not less than once every five years;
  • the organization conducts a recordkeeping training program;
  • the efficiency and effectiveness of the recordkeeping training program are reviewed from time to time; and
  • the organization’s induction program addresses employees’ roles and responsibilities in regard to their compliance with the agency’s recordkeeping plan.

2017 Winner - Department of Education

At the Institute of Public Administration Australia’s W S Lonnie Awards presentation on 2 March 2017, the State Archivist and Executive Director State Records, Ms Cathrin Cassarchis, was delighted to announce the Department of Education as the recipient of this year’s State Records Commission Award for Excellence in Compliance Reporting. The Department’s annual report statement describes a comprehensive program to monitor and improve organisational compliance with its Recordkeeping Plan: comprising audits across the Department including regional offices; appropriate risk assessments for cloud computing services; training and support for staff; with both mandatory records awareness courses and workshops held throughout the State, involving 700 school administrators and teachers.

The judging panel was particularly impressed by the Department’s upgrade of the Recordkeeping System; dedicated training and support programs not only for metropolitan based staff but also those throughout the State; along with advisory services and visits when required.  The training program to encompass school administrators and teachers with a view to increase awareness of best practice recordkeeping and ensure the capture and return of School Archives to the protection of the Department is highly commendable.  

The Department of Education’s 2015-16 annual report presents an excellent account of the agency’s work to monitor and improve its recordkeeping practices throughout the State. The agency is deemed a worthy winner of the 2017 State Records Commission Award.

2017 Special Commendation - Western Australian Treasury Corporation

The State Records Commission also extended a high commendation to the Western Australian Treasury Corporation (WATC).  Whilst a relatively small agency employing 66 staff, the WATC’s annual report describes an impressive framework of internal compliance audits for reviewing recordkeeping systems and practices; staff surveys; mandatory training; and routine monitoring of the efficiency and effectiveness of systems and practices. Further enhancements involving targeted training for business units and improved components of the induction programs are anticipated as part of the WATC’s commitment to continuous improvement.  

Past Winners of the Award

  • 2016 Winner: Main Roads Western Australia - Special commendation: Pilbara Ports Authority
  • 2015 Winner: Department of Fisheries - Special commendation: Not awarded
  • 2014 Winner: Fremantle Port Authority - Special commendation: Not awarded
  • 2013 Winner: Economic Regulation Authority - Special commendation: Department of Mines and Petroleum
  • 2012 Winner: Disability Services Commission - Special commendation: Main Roads Western Australia
  • 2011 Winner: Western Australia Police - Special commendation: Main Roads Western Australia
  • 2010 Winner: Fremantle Port Authority - Special commendation: Disability Services Commission
  • 2009 Winner: Disability Services Commission - Special commendation: Fremantle Port Authority
  • 2008 Winner: Department of the Attorney General - Special commendations: Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority; C Y O’Connor College of TAFE
  • 2007 Winner: Central West College of TAFE - Special commendations: Disability Services Commission; Fremantle Port Authority
  • 2006 Winner: South West Regional College of TAFE - Special commendation: Not awarded



Last updated 13 April 2017