Margaret Medcalf Award 2018 - Call for Nominations

Nominations are called for the 2018 Margaret Medcalf Award

*The call for nominations closed on 6 April and judging is currenlty underway.

This annual Award recognizes excellence in referencing and research in the use of State Archives held by the State Records Office of Western Australia (SRO). It honours Miss Margaret Medcalf OAM, Western Australia’s second State Archivist, for her valuable contribution to the development of archives in Western Australia.  The winner of this Award receives a cash prize of $1000, or shares this prize if there is more than one winner. Works nominated must demonstrate the use and accurate referencing of State Archives.

Any work completed or published in 2017 is eligible to be submitted for nomination, and anyone, including the author of the work, may submit a nomination.

Nominated works need not be published, may be fiction or non-fiction, and in any media. To submit a nominated work please complete a 2018 Margaret Medcalf Award Nomination Form and send it along with 3 copies of nominated works to the SRO at the address given below. If published online please provide a web link and email a completed nomination form. One copy of nominated and winning works will be retained permanently by the SRO.  

The judging criteria for the Award are:

  • Level of use of the State Archives Collection;
  • Proficient and consistent use of referencing;
  • Level of contribution to knowledge (historical, cultural, heritage, etc.);
  • Original use of the State Archives Collection;
  • Presentation.

For further details including more information about the judging criteria for the Award, see or contact Gerard Foley at the SRO by email or by phone on (08) 9427 3641. 

Nominations for the 2018 Margaret Medcalf Award should be addressed to: 

The State Archivist, State Records Office of WA, Alexander Library Building, Perth Cultural Centre, Perth, WA 6000, by 4pm Friday, 6 April 2018.